Vehicle and Driver Requirements for Uber and Lyft in Pennsylvania
Ryan Zavodnick | July 14, 2023 | Pennsylvania Law
Have you considered driving for Uber or Lyft in Pennsylvania? If that is what you want, both you and your car need to meet certain requirements. Both Uber and Lyft set minimum standards for drivers and their vehicles to help limit car accidents and ensure the quality of their services.
Lyft Driver Requirements
If you want to drive a vehicle for Lyft in Pennsylvania, you need to:
- Have a valid driver’s license for the state you live in
- Be 25 years or older
- Pass a driving history screening
- Pass a criminal background check
- Own a smartphone that can run the Lyft Driver app
Lyft allows drivers to operate in states other than where they live. Thus, you can have a New Jersey driver’s license and work in Philadelphia, for example. Furthermore, Lyft allows drivers to have temporary driver’s licenses.
Lyft Vehicle Requirements
The vehicle requirements for Lyft are simple. You must own a car that:
- Is no more than 15 years old
- Has been driven fewer than 350,000 miles
- Has four doors
- Has between five to eight seat belts
- Is not a taxi or stretch limousine
- Isn’t rebuilt or titled as salvage
You usually have to own your vehicle, but Lyft allows you to rent a car through Express Drive in Philadelphia. This is the only type of rental vehicle that you can use as a Lyft driver.
Uber Driver Requirements
Uber driver requirements differ from Lyft driver requirements. As an Uber driver, you must have an in-state license. Additionally, you can drive an Uber if you are under 25 years old as long as you have had a license for at least three years. If you are older than 25, you must still have been licensed for at least a year to drive for Uber.
Similar to the requirements for Lyft, Uber will also review your driving record and criminal history before allowing you to drive for the company.
Uber Vehicle Requirements
The vehicle requirements for Uber vehicles aren’t as strict as they are for Lyft vehicles as long as you aren’t enrolled in one of the specialty programs.
Uber requires your vehicle to:
- Be no more than 15 years old
- Have four doors
- Not have any cosmetic damage
- Be in good condition
- Not have any commercial branding
- Pass a yearly state vehicle inspection
If your vehicle is part of either of the Uber Black programs, it can be no more than seven years old.
Individual programs also have additional requirements. For example, both Uber Black programs require the exterior of the car to be black and for you to maintain a 4.85 rating or higher. Alternatively, the UberXL program requires your car to have at least seven factory-installed seat belts.
You can determine the specific requirements for the program you want to join by contacting Uber directly or visiting their website.
Inspection, Registration, and Insurance
All vehicles used by Uber and Lyft drivers are expected to be inspected and insured in the state where they are registered. Neither company will pay for inspections, insurance, or registration.
Joining Uber or Lyft in Philadelphia
As a general rule of thumb, if you want to drive for Uber or Lyft in Pennsylvania, you need to own a newer vehicle that is in good condition. You also need to have an excellent driving record. If you meet these requirements, you should be able to join one or both of the programs and become a ride-sharing driver.
Contact Our Personal Injury Lawyer in Philadelphia Today To Get Help With Your Case
To learn more and get the help you deserve, call Zavodnick & Lasky Personal Injury Lawyers at (215) 875-7030 or contact us online. You can also visit our law firm at 123 S Broad St #1220, Philadelphia, PA 19109.